# FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 18, 2023

#### ATTENDANCE

**Board Members Present:** 

Mr. Marc Beland
Mr. Shane Lloyd
Mrs. Linda Kowal
Mrs. Amanda Paul
Mr. Henry Goertzen
Mr. Tim Driedger
Mr. Benjamin Friesen
Mr. John Zacharias
Mr. Dale Lederer

### Administration Present:

Mr. Michael McMann, Superintendent

Mr. Terry Gibson, Associate Superintendent of Operations Mrs. Natalie Morris, Associate Superintendent of Learning Mr. Norman Buhler, Associate Superintendent of Finance

Mrs. Darlene Bergen, Executive Assistant

#### CALL TO ORDER

Associate Superintendent of Finance, Norman Buhler, called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m.

## 23-10-17083 ELECTION OF CHAIR

Associate Superintendent of Finance, Norman Buhler, called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the period October 18, 2023, to October 2025.

First call: Linda Kowal nominated Marc Beland. Accepted.

Second call: None. Third call: None.

There being no further nominations, Dale Lederer declared that nominations cease.

Marc Beland was declared acclaimed as Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the 2023-2025 term.

**CARRIED** 

### TURNOVER OF CHAIR

The Associate Superintendent of Finance turned over the chair to newly elected Board Chair, Marc Beland.

# FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 18, 2023

23-10-17084 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR Board Chair, Marc Beland, called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the period October 18, 2023, to October 2024.

First call: Benjamin Friesen nominated Tim Driedger. Accepted.

Second call: None. Third call: None.

There being no further nominations, Dale Lederer declared that nominations cease.

Tim Driedger was declared acclaimed as Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the 2023-2024 term.

**CARRIED** 

23-10-17085 ESTABLISHMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES Henry Goertzen moved that the following trustees be appointed as representatives on the various associations/councils for the period October 18, 2023, to October 2024.

Alberta School Boards Association Zone 1 – Henry Goertzen
Fort Vermilion Community Education Committee – Linda Kowal
Negotiation Committee – Tim Driedger and Linda Kowal
Teachers' Employer Bargaining Association – Marc Beland
Audit Committee – Marc Beland, Dale Lederer and Amanda Paul
CARRIED

23-10-17086 ESTABLISHMENT OF BOARD MEETING DATES Amanda Paul moved that the Board of Trustees establish the Board Meeting dates for the 2023-2024 school year as follows: September 19, 2023 October 18, 2023 November 29, 2023

January 24, 2024 March 27, 2024 April 17, 2024 May 22, 2024 June 19, 2024

**CARRIED** 

## FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 18, 2023

PAGE 3 OF 3

23-10-17087 ATB FINANCIAL SIGNING AUTHORITY John Zacharias moved that the Board of Trustees give the following individuals signing authority on ATB Financial accounts with a two to sign requirement effective October 18, 2023:

Michael McMann - Superintendent

Norman Buhler - Associate Superintendent of Finance

Payne Cardinal – Director of Finance

Karen Smith - Associate Superintendent of Learning Natalie Morris - Associate Superintendent of Learning Terrence Gibson - Associate Superintendent of Operations

Marc Beland - Board Chair Tim Driedger - Vice Chair

**CARRIED** 

23-10-17088 ADJOURNMENT Marc Beland moved that the organizational meeting be adjourned at 3:54 p.m.

**CARRIED** 

(original signed)

**Board Chair** 

(original signed)

Associate Superintendent of

Finance